Skip To Main Content

ECC inducts 24 into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

PTK Fall 2018

Front row (left to right): Sofia M. Sanchez, Della Glitch, Danielle Cerna/ Koehrsen, Shelbey Fritz, Nikole Meyer. Back row: Nelvin Boscan, Bryan Paez Lopez, Oliva Butt and Kerri Janssen.

The Alpha Iota Omega Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Ellsworth Community College inducted 24 new members during the fall semester. Phi Theta Kappa is an international honor society for two-year colleges. To qualify for membership, ECC students must be in a degree-seeking program with a cumulative 3.25 grade point average, and have completed a minimum of 12 credit hours.

After a welcome and introductions by Sophie Helldorff, ECC PTK President, Jörg Rochlitzer, PTK Advisor, introduced ECC English Faculty and guest speaker, Honória Baloghová. Baloghová spoke about what it takes to be a successful student in college and the opportunities a PTK member has.

“Today, you become a part of a family 3.5 million strong. You become eligible for scholarships and leadership opportunities available only to the most dedicated students,” Baloghová said. “You can grow personally and professionally. You can now proudly add Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society to your resume.”

Helldorff presented the inductees with a lit candle signifying a torch of knowledge and PTK Vice President of Fellowship, Zion Oromo, gave each inductee a white rose signifying purity and beauty of life. Inductees then recited the membership pledge.

Fall 2018 inductees, listed by hometown, are:

Ackley, IA – Allee Mazoway

Aplington, IA – Kerri Janssen

Blairsburg, IA – Ronda Richardson

Bloomington, MN – Alexander Schneider

Cali, Colombia – Roger Camacho

Caracas, Venezuela – Nelvin Boscan

Collins, IA – Erin Botterbrodt

Colo, IA – Shelbey Fritz

Hazleton, IA – Alianna Holliday

Hubbard, IA – Mackenzie Shaver

Iowa Falls, IA – Oliva Butt, Danielle Cerna/ Koehrsen, Della Glitch, Nikole Meyer, Kolton Peterson and Sofia M. Sanchez.

Jamesport, MO – Austin Eckert

Lincoln, IA – Emily Engelkes

Lincoln, NE – Samantha Miller

Maracay, Venezuela – Bryan Paez Lopez

Mount Pleasant, IA – Cameryn Styron

Oakland, IA – Morgan Showalter

Platte City, Mo – Mekenzie Wright

Utica, NY – Kevin Lockhart

Related Articles