Skip To Main Content

ECC Student Senators visit Iowa Capitol


Six Ellsworth Community College Student Senators were among the students who visited with Iowa legislators last week when the Iowa Association of Community College Trustees (IACCT) hosted its annual Student Legislative Conference at the Capitol in Des Moines. The students met with elected officials and discussed Iowa community colleges and why they chose to attend Ellsworth.

Pictured inside the statehouse are, from left, Katie Rinkert of Prole; Steven Candley of Arlington, TX; Olivia Ballhagen of Parkersburg; Jess Eberl of Underwood; Sen. Bill Dix; Marcus Thompson of Lawrenceville, GA; and Marcus Smith of Carlisle, OH. The students were accompanied by ECC Provost Dr. Nancy Muecke (not pictured), and they also met with Rep. Pat Grassley.

During the event, Rep. Grassley and Rep. Dave Deyoe read House Resolution 7 and Sen. Dix read Senate Resolution 3 recognizing the 2015 quasquicentennial (125th) anniversary celebration of Ellsworth Community College.

Related Articles