Skip To Main Content

Winter, Kluesner named to 2015 All-Iowa Academic Team

Melissa Winter of Hubbard and Samantha Kluesner of Iowa Falls, both sophomores at Ellsworth Community College in Iowa Falls, were among the top Iowa community college students honored at a March 4 ceremony in Des Moines. The two were named to the 2015 All-Iowa Academic Team, sponsored by the Phi Theta Kappa international honor society for two-year colleges.

In addition, Melissa was named to the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team and was a recipient of the team’s Bronze Scholar Award. There were 50 Bronze Scholar recipients nationally, and each received a $1,000 scholarship sponsored by The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation.

Melissa is enrolled in ECC’s Associate Degree Nursing program and plans to transfer to the University of Iowa after Ellsworth. She was president of ECC’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter last year, is a Resident Assistant for the ECC Housing Department, and has been on the Dean’s List for the entirety of her academic career at Ellsworth.

Samantha is a Liberal Arts major who plans to transfer to Iowa State University after graduating from ECC. She is a member of Phi Theta Kappa, she serves as the ECC Student Senate treasurer, and is a Dean’s List honoree.

Melissa and Samantha were accompanied to the recognition ceremony by Dr. Nancy Muecke, ECC Provost; Dr. Lisa Stock, ECC Dean of Students & Academic Affairs and PTK Advisor; and Dr. Chris Duree, Iowa Valley Community College District Chancellor

Related Articles