Skip To Main Content

Phi Theta Kappa welcomes new inductees in Spring 2021 induction ceremony.

Phi Theta Kappa Spring 2021 inductees

IOWA FALLS – Ellsworth Community College held its spring Phi Theta Kappa induction ceremony on Thursday evening.  The following students were inducted into the honor society: Estrella Alamillo, Mary Ash, Sydney Clark, Sarai Cortes, Madelin Egeland, Kennedy Eskildsen, Bethany Greenfield, Liliana Hill, Joshua Kamara, Rhianna Kryfka, Maggie Meyers, Reagan Meyers, Jayda Nehl, Isabelle Ruppert, Katelyn Ryherd, Madelin Scheidt, Kayla Schweisthal, Pietro Vannini, Kristie Varner, and Katrina Vogel.

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is the international academic honor society for two-year colleges. ECC’s Alpha Iota Omega chapter of PTK recognizes and encourages scholarship among Ellsworth’s students. The chapter provides opportunities for leadership development, service to others, an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, and stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Potential members are invited to join and must meet chapter eligibility requirements.  Current eligibility requirements include a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 or higher and completion of 12 semester hours or more in a two-year program. Benefits include recognition as academic scholars during the graduation ceremony.

Business faculty Dr. Michael Le was the featured speaker at the ceremony.  Dr. Le shared about his experience as a refugee and his journey to Iowa and ultimately to Ellsworth.  Dr. Le encouraged the new PTK inductees in their educational journey with three words: motivation determination, and dedication.

Related Articles